FAQ

1. Will there be any admission interview? If so, in what language? What is the interview about? What are the assessment criteria?
Applicants may be invited for an admission interview. Interviews are conducted irregularly after the admission is open for application in October. Interviews are conducted in English. The interviews are about current issues and the BSc in Community Health Practice programme. Assessment criteria include, but not limited to, applicants’ academic results and interview performance.
  Top
2. Are interview opportunities only granted to applicants who select BSc in Community Health Practice as their first-preference?
Applicants’ preferences and their sub-degree level academic results are considered when the programme selects applicants for interviews. Therefore, if applicants select BSc in Community Health Practice as their first-preference, they have a greater chance to be invited for an interview.
  Top
3. How much is the interview performance weighted?
Applicants’ interview performance is very important for the applicant selection process. Although no definite weighting is assigned to applicants’ interview performance, it is considered together with applicants’ sub-degree level academic results when the programme ranks applicants on the merit order list.
  Top
4. Will my application be considered if my sub-degree qualification is not health or social science-related?
Applicants’ academic background is more suitable for the BSc in Community Health Practice programme if their sub-degree qualification is health or social science-related. If not, their applications will still be considered.
  Top
5. Is this a UGC funded programme?
The BSc in Community Health Practice programme is a UGC funded programme.
  Top
6. What level of the Qualifications Framework does the BSc in Community Health Practice programme belong to?
Same as other bachelor degree programmes, the BSc in Community Health Practice programme belongs to level 5 of the Qualifications Framework. The Qualifications Register (QR) Registration Number of the programme is 13/000303/L5.
  Top
7. What can I learn from the BSc in Community Health Practice programme?
The BSc in Community Health Practice programme aims at equipping the graduates with the knowledge, skills and competencies of applying health theories, which is required for effective implementation of community health programmes. Students will learn about public health concepts including contemporary health issues, environmental influence on health, and health ethics and law. Students will also be exposed to health sciences including principles of infectious diseases and biostatistics. Last but not least, students will acquire skills in organizing community health projects, including community needs assessment, health communications and non-governmental organizations management.
  Top
8. Will there be internship opportunities?
Students will spend 250 hours on placement in government departments or non-governmental organizations in their second year of study to gain hands-on experience of community health project organization.
  Top
9. Will there be exchange opportunities?
The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) has formal partnerships with about 300 institutions in over 30 countries or regions around the world, and the partnership list grows ever longer. Every year, hundreds of CUHK students join the exchange programmes of these institutions for one term or one academic year. The Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care has also established close connection with many overseas institutions, including Boston University of the US, University of Oxford of the UK and Peking University of China.
  Top
10. What is the graduation requirement?
This 2-year full-time programme requires students to complete 69 units of courses in order to fulfill graduation requirement. Among them, 52 units are from major courses and 17 units are from other courses, including English, General Education, PE and Electives.
  Top
11. What kind of students is more suitable for the BSc in Community Health Practice programme?
The BSc in Community Health Practice programme is suitable for students who are mission-driven, have good leadership and welcome challenges. Interested students should also be good at analytical thinking, have good language competence and high social awareness.
  Top
12. What is the career prospect of graduates of the BSc in Community Health Practice programme?
Graduates of this Programme will play diverse roles in helping to meet the increasing demands from health issues in our society. Graduates will be well-trained in handling community health issues by developing new roles in healthcare delivery, e.g. prevention of non-communicable diseases, patient empowerment of self-management, and primary health care. Graduates of the Programme will be employable in many sectors including business, social care, primary care, and education, as well as Non-Governmental Organisations.
  Top
13. What is the difference between community health practitioners (CHP) and medical professionals?
CHP serve to reduce health and social care costs by preventing health problems, promoting healthy lifestyles, improving compliance to medical advice, enhancing self-care and self-management skills, and facilitating access to appropriate health and social services. One of the most important tasks of CHP is to equip individuals and families with the knowledge and skills in making informed choices for their health within the context of the setting where they live and work.
Medical professionals give treatment to patients when they are sick or injured, usually at individual level.
  Top

 

/files/graphics-illustration-intro.png

常见问题

1. 是否须要进行面试? 如须要,采用什么语言? 面试内容是什么?如何评定取录资格?
申请者可能需要进行面试。面试会于十月份开始收生后不定期举行。 面试以是英语进行。面试内容是关于时事常识及对课程认识等。我们会跟据申请人的成绩、面试表现等作为取录评核。
  页首
2. 申请人是否必须把社区健康理学士放在第一志愿,才有机会参加面试?
本课程在邀请申请者参加面试时,会考虑申请者的志愿排序及副学士/高级文凭的学业成绩。因此,若把社区健康理学士放在第一志愿,便有较高机会被邀请参加面试。
  页首
3. 面试占多少分?
面试表现在整个甄选过程非常重要。面试没有占一个特定的比重,但面试的表现会影响收生的次序。同时,学院也会考虑同学的副学士/高级文凭的学业成绩。
  页首
4. 如我的副学士/高级文凭并不是健康或社会科学的课程,我的申请会被考虑吗?
如申请人的副学士/高级文凭与健康或社会科学有关,其学术背景比较切合本课程。然而,如申请人修读其他副学士/高级文凭课程,本课程也会考虑其申请。
  页首
5. 这是大学敎育资助委员会(敎资会/ UGC)资助的课程吗?
是,社区健康理学士课程是大学敎育资助委员会资助的课程。
  页首
6. 这个课程属于资历架构的第几级别?
社区健康理学士课程属于资历架构的第5级别,与一般学士课程属同等级别,资历名册登记号码为13/000303/L5。
  页首
7. 我在社区健康理学士课程可学到什么?
本课程旨在为毕业生装备有效地实施社区健康计划所需的知识与技能,在学术知识和职业培训之间取得良好的平衡。学生可从中学习公共卫生方面的概念,如当代健康问题、环境对健康的影响、健康法律及道德等,也可学习健康科学方面的知识,如传染病原理、生物统计学等,同时亦可学习推行社区健康计划的技巧,如社区需求分析、健康传讯 及 非政府机构的管理等。
  页首
8. 课程会否安排实习?
学生将在第二学年获安排到政府部门或非政府组织等进行实习。实习期间学生须完成250小时工作,以尝试实行社区健康计划。
  页首
9. 学生会否有到海外交流的机会?
香港中文大学与世界各地超过30个国家或地区共约300所院校建立了伙伴关系,而且合作的院校尚不断增加。中大学生每年有数百人前往这些伙伴院校,作一个学期或者整学年的交换生。而赛马会公共卫生学及基层医疗学院与海外多所大学及机构建立了紧密连络,如美国波士顿大学、英国牛津大学、中国北京大学等。
  页首
10. 毕业学分的要求是多少?
本两年全日制课程的毕业学分要求是69分。其中包括52分是主修科目(Major)学分、17分是其他科目,包括英文科、通识科、体育科及选修科(Elective)。
  页首
11. 那类型的学生较适合修读社区健康理学士课程?
具备良好的分析能力及语言基础,拥有敏锐的社区触角,富有使命感及领导才能和勇于接受挑战的学生都很适合修读社区健康理学士课程。
  页首
12. 社区健康理学士的毕业生的出路如何?
修毕课程后,毕业生将在解决日益增加的社会健康问题上发挥多重作用。毕业生将有充份处理社区健康问题的训练并可以在医疗服务中扮演新角色,如预防非传染性疾病、加强病人的自我管理能力,和提供一般基层医疗。本课程的毕业生将可在许多行业就业,包括商业、社会护理、基层医疗、教育、以及非政府组织。
  页首
13. 社区健康专才与临床医护人员有何分别?
社区健康专才着力预防健康问题、促进健康生活方式、改善对遵从医生意见的情况、提升社区的自我保健和管理能力,并协助有需要人士取得适当的医疗及社会服务,以减低医疗及社会保障成本。他们的主要工作之一是帮助个人及家庭取得知识和技能,让他们在其生活和工作层面中,作出知情的选择。
至于临床医护人员如医生、护士等,他们在病人生病或受伤时给予治疗,而大多是在个人层面。
  页首

 

/files/graphics-illustration-intro.png