Our Vision

Quality community health education and health promotion programmes are needed for success of community-based care. Well-trained community health practitioners (CHP) would serve to reduce health and social care costs by preventing health problems, promoting healthy lifestyles, improving compliance to medical advice, enhancing self-care and self-management skills, and facilitating access to appropriate health and social services. One of the most important tasks of CHP is to equip individuals and families with the knowledge and skills in making informed choices for their health within the context of the setting where they live and work.

The health of individuals, families and our communities are reflection of the physical, psychological, social, spiritual and intellectual states as determined by the socio-political, economical, and cultural environment in which we live. This ecological perspective on health emphasises strongly on the interaction between physical and socio-cultural environment. The entry point for health promotion is to identify the multiple levels of influence on health behaviours and how the behaviours are shaped by the environment.

21st Century health education and health promotion is a specialised field to make planned changes of health-related lifestyles and life conditions through individual, interpersonal, and population level changes with collaboration of both mainstream health and community partners. This Programme will provide the foundation for graduates to become specialist in health education and health promotion.

Currently, there are many Associate Degree and Higher Diploma health-related programmes provided by various institutions. A study ladder is essential for graduates of these programmes to achieve higher education to meet the needs at local, Greater China, as well as global levels for community health skills/professionals.

/files/graphics-illustration-intro.png

愿景

社区护理的成功建基于优质的社区健康教育和健康促进计划。经训练的社区健康从业员(社康员)可预防健康问题、促进健康生活方式、改善对遵从医生意见的情况、提升自我保健和管理能力,并协助取得适当的医疗及社会服务,以减低医疗及社会保障成本。社康员的主要工作之一是帮助个人及家庭取得知识和技能,让他们在其生活和工作层面中,作出知情的选择。

个人、家庭及社区健康往往反映社会政治、经济与文化环境对生理、心理、社会、精神及知性状态的影响。在这生态观点下,健康就是强调体格和社会文化环境间的相互作用。健康促进的基础是辨识对健康行为的多层次的影响及环境如何构成该等行为。

二十一世纪健康教育和健康促进是透过主流医疗与社区伙伴的合作,令个人、人际和群体层面作出改变的专业。本课程旨在为毕业生装备有效地实施社区健康计划所需的知识与技能。

现时多所专上院校均有开办与健康相关的副学士及高级文凭课程,完善的升学阶梯对于这些课程的毕业生接受高等教育,以满足本地、大中华地区以至全球对具社区健康技能和专业人员的需求,乃不可或缺的。

/files/graphics-illustration-intro.png